Home Alone Movie Review

Merry Christmas Eve ya filthy animals. Ok, I know I said I was gonna review Die Hard today…but I had a change of heart. And since it’s my blog, I can do that. But this is just as good. Don’t worry, I’ll get to that one eventually though. 

Home Alone. This has to be in my top 5 favorite movies from my childhood. And really, it’s almost as violent as Die Hard if you think about it. What can I say about this film that hasn’t been said already? It’s the perfect holiday film, Macaulay Culkin as Kevin McCallister is the perfect child protagonist, and it’s possibly the most quotable Christmas movies of all time.

For those very few of you that don’t know the plot, it’s about this kid that gets mistakenly left at home during his holiday family vacation. That’s an oversimplification, but you get the gist.

Harry and Marv are your perfect lovable villains. I feel awkward saying that since they DID try to kill a kid…but that’s beside the point. They somehow manage to survive all of the traps in the fantastic and thrilling 3rd act. Maybe using those words is a bit of an overpraise, but it is a great finale to this film, and really shows that no matter your age or height, you can still outwit of couple of grown dumbasses.

But despite the over the top violence in this movie, it still manages to have that Christmas heart that a holiday film should have. I wouldn’t be a film reviewer if I didn’t also talk about the negatives as well. It does kind of jump into the realm of “would that really happen though?” Not as much as the 2nd film does, I’ll give it that, but I would’ve liked a bit more realism. The acting isn’t superb, but again, you don’t really need great acting in a movie like this. “I made my parents disappear”. That line also makes Kevin WAY to happy.

This movie really doesn’t have very many flaws though, and even the ones it does are easy to overlook. It’s a great family movie to watch around the holidays, and just a great movie in general.

Final Verdict: 8.5/10

I almost put it as a 9, but then I realized that was a bit to close to Star Wars. This movies good, but it’s not THAT good. As for my next review? I’ll give you a hint. It’s a Steven Spielberg movie. He’s my favorite director of all time, and it’s one of my favorite films of all time. It even competes with Star Wars. I will actually do it this time. The only reason I backed out of Die Hard is because I just wasn’t feeling it. Well, Happy Holidays to you and your family, and I’ll see you in a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

